Alumni Association

University of Colorado Boulder


Learn about the awards
> George Norlin Award
> Robert L. Stearns Award
> Kalpana Chawla Award
> Alumni Recognition Award
> Leanne Skupa-Lee Award
> Forever Buffs Student Award
> Nomination

Congratulations to our 2015 Alumni Association Award Winners!

SAVE THE DATE to honor our 2015 Alumni Award recipients on Thurs. Oct. 15 at 5:45 p.m. in the Glenn Miller Ballroom at the University Memorial Center.

Check In: 5:45 p.m.

Ceremony: 6:30 p.m.

Reception following the ceremony and will feature heavy appetizers, dessert, a cash bar and live entertainment! This will be an evening full of special stories, incredible accomplishments and tremendous pride in CU.

REGISTER EARLY and save your spot!


Questions? Please contact Brennan Meadows, the Alumni Awards program manager.

2015 Alumni Award Recipients:

George Norlin Award

Jimmy Calano (Mktg’78)
Pamela Drew (Math, MCompSci’87, PhD’91)
Bill Marolt (Bus’67)

Kalpana Chawla Outstanding Recent Graduate Award

Meshach Rhoades (Law’04)
Evan Thomas (Jour, Aero, MAero’06, PhD’09)

Robert L. Stearns Award

Adam Bradley
David Plati (Jour’82)
Steven Pollock

Forever Buffs Student Award

Paris Angelique Ferribee (Mktg, Comm’16)
Juedon Kebede (Comm’15)

Alumni Recognition Award

Nan Joesten (ChemEngr’82)
Joe Neguse (PolSci,Econ’05, Law’09)

See the previous winners of the George Norlin Award, Robert L. Stearns Award, Alumni Recognition Award, Kalpana Chawla Recent Graduate Award, Leanne Skupa-Lee Award and Forever Buffs Student Award.

The evening will feature a pre-reception with wine and plated appetizers followed by the ceremony in the Glenn Miller Ballroom. Afterwards, guests are invited to join us for a post-reception featuring heavy appetizers and a cash bar.

Alumni Awards History

The tradition of honoring the University of Colorado Boulder’s best began in 1930 when the Alumni Association wanted to honor the beloved CU President George Norlin and the growing legions of extraordinary alumni. Thus, the George Norlin Award was born.

Since then, the association has been fortunate to recognize several generations of outstanding alumni with the Norlin Award, including President Norlin himself who received his medal in 1939 when he retired after 20 years of presidential service.

In the decades since, the association has added five prestigious awards to honor members of the university community. They include the Leanne Skupa-Lee Award, the Robert L. Stearns Award, the Alumni Recognition Award, the Kalpana Chawla Outstanding Recent Graduate Award and the Forever Buffs Student Award.

For more info, e-mail Brennan Meadows or call 303-492-6899.

These awards are one of the university’s longest standing traditions.